Who we are

As discussed on the Home Page, Smallholding Scotland is focused on the delivery of the 2021 Scottish Smallholder Festival only.


How it began

Following a call via the Smallholding Scotland Facebook group for volunteers to take forward the establishment of the new organisation, a steering group met in January 2017.

The steering group agreed that the new organisation should seek be established as a Scottish Charitable Incorporated Organisation (SCIO) and an application to the Office of the Scottish Charity Regulator (OSCR) was made on 25th April 2017.

On 29th June 2017, Smallholding Scotland became registered as an incorporated body having charitable status. Our charity number is SCO47642.

The constitution and business plan for Smallholding Scotland SCIO can be read below.

Our Constitution Our Business Plan

Smallholding Scotland currently has five trustees (AGM 2020). They come from all over Scotland and from a wide range of backgrounds and experience:

  • Sandra Bannister (Fossoway)
  • Martin Beard (Arbroath)
  • Nicola Cook (Perthshire)
  • Anne Massie (Clackmannan)
  • Arnot Tippett (Angus)

Under the constitution, the organisation can have up to 15 trustees so we’d love to hear from anyone who would like to become a trustee. As a new organisation, there is a lot of work to be done.

We are currently meeting every month by conference call and each quarter face to face, so you wouldn’t need to travel too much to take an active role. You just need to be enthusiatic and be prepared to contribute by email and meetings on a regular basis.

You must be resident in Scotland (to be eligible for full membership and therefore eligible to be a trustee). If you are interested , please use the contact email on the Join Us page.